Rock of Cashel / Holycross Abbey Day Tour
Rock of Cashel/Holycross Abbey Day Tour
This wonderful Day Tour features a visit to the famous & historic Rock of Cashel in Co Tipperary and follows up with visits to Holycross Abbey, Farney Castle and Kilcommon Prayer Garden during a very scenic drive through the Tipperary Mountains.
Sit Back, Relax and Enjoy!
Rock of Cashel
It’s huge, it’s complex, it’s iconic – nothing like it anywhere else in the world.
The Rock of Cashel is also known as Cashel of the Kings. High ground is valuable when fending off attack – Makes perfect sense that the Kings of Munster made the Rock their 5thC home. Legend associates it with St. Patrick and it’s said to be the site of the conversion of Aenghus, King of Munster by St. Patrick in the 5thC. Most buildings date from the 12th/13th C when the rock was gifted to the Church.
The Chapel of King Cormac or Cormac’s Chapel was consecrated in 1134 and is the most important building, historically& architecturally. The cathedral was built between 1235 and 1270 and the grounds have an extensive graveyard & a number of beautiful high crosses.The ruins of a Dominican friary, founded by the Archbishop in 1243, renovated after a fire in 1480, and dissolved in 1540 is situated near the base of the hill. Even if you aren’t devoutly religious, there’s no denying the powerful feelings that are found in the Rock of Cashel.
Explore magnificent Holycross Abbey, a restored Cistercian abbey on the scenic River Suir in County Tipperary. Founded in the12thC by the King of Munster, it became a place of medieval pilgrimage.
Discover the rich, colourful past of Holycross Abbey, one of Ireland’s National Monuments. It was left in ruins in the 15thC but was restored in the 1970’s and is now a working Parish Church.
Holycross Abbey is a peaceful landmark and a perfect spot for quiet contemplation and historical discovery. The relic of the True Cross can be viewed in a quiet enclosure.
Stop off in the picturesque village with its cluster of thatched cottages and vibrant flowers. Get a sense of the history of this sacred place, a destination of pilgrimage for people all over the world.
This is the only Round Tower in Ireland still in use as a family home and Cyril & Margie Cullen & Family live here. The first timber castle built was here in 1185 and present round tower built in 1495 by the Butlers, who were here for 500 years. It’s 58’ high with 5 stories and has a mural staircase (built within the thickness of the walls) off which it appears that secret rooms still exist undiscovered.
Kilcommon Prayer Garden: Site of St Colom’s Well, this is an effort by the townspeople to promote their village. As well as the formal rose garden, the entire site has been landscaped to create a meditative area that has become a popular pilgrimage site. A local tradesman has carved the Stations of the Cross in teak that are now displayed in the garden.
The 12thC Benedictine Monastery here was destroyed in the 16thC, with the rubble used to build the present church in 1804.