St Cronan’s Church is the oldest church in continuous use in Ireland and the UK with a Church of Ireland Service held on the 4th Sunday each month.
It is open each day for visitors from April to September (incl) and signage explains the history and features of the building. Outside these times the unique doorway can be viewed without going inside.
A new “Free To View” Audio Visual presentation depicting the history of the Church is now available.
Visitors will be able to view the six minutes long presentation by simply clicking a button inside the door.
St Cronan founded a Wooden Built Monastery here in the 6thC and this site in Tuamgraney is one of the most notable and important ecclesiastical and historical places in Ireland.
It is the only preserved building with a recorded link to Brian Boru, High King of Ireland 1002-1014. He is recorded as having prayed here and also repaired the Church, where his brother Marcán was Abbot of Tuamgraney at the time.
Visitors to the building enter through the same doorway as he did over 1000 years ago!
The nearby O’Grady Castle was built in the 15thC by the O’Grady family in order to protect the church. They were Ireland’s leading ecclesiastical family at that time.